Edinburgh

First things first. How does one pronounce the name of this city? EdinbURGH? EdinburghO? EdinBRUH? It seems whenever I say one I get corrected, so we will just assume that I will never know how to properly refer to this wonderful city.

If I could describe Edinburgh in one word it would be ‘storybook’. Not only does the town look like something out of a storybook, every street seems to have stories to tell! The entire city has a slightly haunting vibe, but in the most charming way possible.

I went to Edinburgh on a whim. I had no idea what it was about or even really where it was (Scotland!) but it was honestly such a wonderful surprise and probably one of my favorite destinations so far!

You might like Edinburgh if:

  1. You really love Harry Potter. Forget the theme park in universal and the studio tour in England, Scotland is a Harry Potter fan’s paradise! We saw The Elephant Cafe where J.K. Rowling started writing the series, the cemetery where she got her character’s names from and the street that was no doubt the inspiration for Diagon Alley. Walking around, it was obvious how Scotland influenced Rowling’s writings. Like mentioned before, the small city is just filled with stories to be told. It’s the perfect place for inspiration.
IMG_5932.jpg
Dragon Alley? Sure looks like it to me!
IMG_5698.jpg
The cafe where J.K. Rowling started Harry Potter! Sacred Ground!
IMG_5729.jpg
Greyfriars Kirk. Probably the creepiest cemetery you will ever visit. I will have to come back in the fall! (Also the site of Tom Riddle’s grave)

2. You like good views (and are willing to face an uphill climb and bitter winds to get to them). Climbing Arthur’s Seat was…an experience! I was not in the proper hiking mindset, but it really was a beautiful view!! Wear proper shoes!

IMG_5800.jpg
On the trail…the very much vertical but here mostly horizontal trail.
IMG_5797.jpg
Oh yea! We saw a rainbow! It was awesome and worth the uphill climb! (Cue Miley Cyrus’ “The Climb” for dramatic effect)

3. Like alcohol and pub culture. Stepping into our first pub immediately brought me back to my time in London. There’s just something about pubs…their cosy interiors, friendly people and GOOD BEER that make them feel so comforting. While I do love the nightlife in Madrid, it was nice to be in a place where one can be social without blasting music. We really had a great time at the pubs and met lots of…uh…friendly people. There was a huge Wales vs. Scotland rugby game going on which made for very packed pubs and very memorable experiences! Alcohol wise, whiskey is the thing to try here! We did a tasting flight which really allowed us to ‘experience’ the whiskey. However, I preferred it in the form of a Hot Toddy. 🙂

IMG_6028.jpg
Am I an adult yet? Sampling the finest Scottish whiskey. Well, not too fine. Hey! We’re on a budget!
IMG_6057.jpg
Cold hands? Get yaself a Hot Toddy.

4. Just like really beautiful buildings. My favorite part of Edinburgh was the gothic architecture. Every building looked so unique and so haunting. Simply walking around the city was an adventure in itself. Edinburgh is a city built in levels. The lower level is the new city. You then have to climb up a level to the old city. And then back down on the other side to the old but kinda hip part of the city. It’s a good workout! Below are some of my favorite photos from my journey north!

IMG_5954.jpg
See what I mean when I say storybook!?

Cathedral with the coolest dome thingy ever.

IMG_5976.jpg
View from the lower city.
IMG_5871.jpg
I am such a fan of all these matching buildings! Reminded me a tad bit of Bath, but with a bit more personality (sorry Bath friends!)
IMG_6086.jpg
Another cemetery. Another great photo op.

The Food: As you know I like to take some time at the end of each post to talk about the local food. In Edinburgh it was whiskey and haggish. What is haggish you ask? Good question. That is the very question I was specifically instructed not to ask. I ate it. It was good. Kinda tasted like stuffing? I still have not googled its contents. Another local favorite? Irnbru. Again, not sure what’s really in it but it tastes magical. By looking at it you’d expect it to taste like orange soda, but in reality it actually tastes like liquid cotton candy. Magical.

IMG_5956.jpg
Pork sandwich with apple and haggish (???) Delicious.
IMG_6026.jpg
The magical soda that is Irnbru!

Until next time Scotland! I hope to return during the winter season to experience the Christmas markets! They are supposedly magical. 🙂 IMG_6055.jpg

4 thoughts on “Edinburgh

  1. I really liked your post. It was different, entertaining to read and I love your passion for Harry Potter and all kind of story telling.

    Like

Leave a Reply

